Reviews

Read reviews from people and venues who have booked us in the past:

Contact us to find out how to hire us for your event
 
"You must be f*****g Irish!"
John from Dublin - in a pub in Cardiff

"Just wanted to say thank you for performing on Saturday night at our Mothers 70th birthday party. Many of the guests feedback on how lovely the music was and the music really made the evening. Thanks Again."
Sinead - Private party, Caerphilly - October 2016

"Thank you so much again for entertaining us so well at St Briavels. We have had so many compliments from our guests about the weekend and you played an important part in this."
Tim - Private céilidh - St Briavels, Gloucestershire - September 2015 

"A huge thank you to Hairpin Bend for playing at our wedding. You created such a great atmosphere and so many guests have commented on what great musicians you all are and what a lovely, relaxed and fun atmosphere you created. You were incredible value for money and I won't hesitate in recommending you to other people. Thank you for making our day so special."
Helen - Wedding music - Hay on Wye - August 2015 

"Just wanted to say a big thank you for the wonderful music on Saturday, it really set the mood! Everyone said such good things about you all."
Kirsten & Sam - Wedding music and céilidh - Ystradfellte - September 2015

"O’Callaghans Café in Treforest was host to yet another cracking display of delightful music on this sunny afternoon in the valleys. The Hairpin Bend band were our music makers today. Their style was of the irish folky persuasion with guitar, mandola, whistle, drum, fiddle and voice influenced by bands such as Planxty and The Bothy Band. They also have a tinge of Mike Oldfield in the mix too. As they played a hell of a lot of notes in a short space of time, as is the tradition, the performance turned out to be both fiery and laid back with the players possibly adept at dreaming out the songs in their sleep because they knew them so well."
Review by Ben Franks - who joined us for a laid back afternoon session at O'Callahan's

"We absolutely loved having the Hairpin Bend perform the céilidh for our wedding, they created a brilliant atmosphere and everybody was up on the floor all night. My only regret is that there are no photos as there was no-one not dancing to take them!"
Hannah & Tom - Wedding céilidh - August 2014 

 "We have just had the most fantastic night ever! Why? We hired the Hairpin Bend, after contacting them 2 months ago, liaising with them up until last Saturday when they performed. They were incredibly professional, polite and helpful. The standard of playing and singing is second to none! We had a caller called Mic and he was just amazing, funny and very patient! This band is special. I listened online to other bands but the Hairpin Bend were the best as far as I was concerned. We had 120+ of all ages jigging and having the utmost fun. A truly memorable evening that will stay with us for a very long time. Thanks to each and every member of The Hairpin Bend! Thank you guys you are very talented musicians." 
Della - Private céilidh in Roose, South Wales - Nov 2014 

"You guys were amazing and a great addition to my wedding in August. The music was great and everyone enjoyed the dancing. It is just what I wanted. Thank you ever so much hope I get to see you guys again some day." 
Barnaby & Erica - Wedding ceilidh - August 2013

"The Hairpin Bend band played at The Cricketers on 01/02/13 the night before the Wales V Ireland six nations opener. With the hotels along the street full of Irish and Welsh travellers down for the weekend it was the perfect start to a great weekend. The Hairpin Bend really lit up the pub and created a great atmosphere. It didn’t take long till people were up and dancing and I started to worry about my polished wooden floor! This was the second time the band have played here and I will definitely be inviting them back!"
The Cricketers - Cardiff
 
"We were extremely fortunate to have booked The Hairpin Bend for the opening ceremony of a three-day European conference back in November of last year. The conference (Eurochild 8th Annual Conference) brought together delegates from all over the world as well as children and their families so it was vitally important for us to not only have music that was traditional and original, but fun and engaging enough to keep people smiling. And they did that! They did it so well. They brought music and smiles with them, played some outstanding music and as a result we were able greet arrivals into Wales in truly memorable fashion. A wonderful group of people. I can’t recommend them highly enough."
Children in Wales Eurochild Conference -Techniquest
Cardiff Irish Band - Playing at The Cricketers, Cathedral Road, Pontcanna